Reflection on Learning

From learning cycle #1 to this final writing piece, writer’s craft has been an amazing learning journey. Being in this course has enabled me to expand upon my writing abilities, and to step outside of my comfort zone in a comfortable space where I received helpful feedback and advice from my peers. Writing is what I love. So to write and learn at the same time has been a wonderful experience. My last writing piece was centred around writing for a specific creative writing career, I selected screenwriter.

Screenwriters are people who really put together all the stray pieces of a story and create something truly captivating for an audience. That is what I wanted to try my hand at by selecting that career, and the experience was very eye-opening. Just like the rest of this course, it forced me out of my comfort zone and pushed me to write something, not for myself, but for others. Looking back on it now, it was definitely one of my favourites assignments.

Is writing an art or a craft? The question still stands in my mind from what seems like so long ago. After going through this journey and learning all that I have. I know that writing is both. When you can paint worlds of colour by simply stringing letters together in the right order, and when you apply structure and methods to every sentence, it is both, and that’s the beauty of it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *